Please note, this event will now take place on Tue 19 Jan, a change to the originally advertised date.

Berg Piano Sonato Op.1
Schubert Four Impromptus D899
Mozart Rondo in A minor K511
Schumann Piano Sonata No.1 in sharp minor Op.11

Piano – Mitsuko Uchida

With some artists, the name is enough. For more than four decades Dame Mitsuko Uchida has been a byword for everything that’s freshest, most thoughtful and most natural about great piano playing. “No pianist today plays Mozart better than Mitsuko Uchida” says The Washington Post. “Her probing intelligence, abundant skill and spontaneous joy are perfectly suited to his music. She finds imaginative ways to bring out the drama, lyricism and wit in every phrase… her playing always sounds thoroughly individual, wonderfully alive and wholly Mozartean.”

But Dame Mitsuko doesn’t only play Mozart, and even though his Rondo K.511 is at the heart of her programme, this recital finds her exploring the length and breadth of German romanticism, from Schumann to Alban Berg by way of her beloved Schubert.

Mitsuko Uchida has devoted a lifetime to this music: there’s no more joyful – or illuminating – guide to these four utterly distinctive masterpieces.

Pre-Concert Talk

This talk has been cancelled due to unforeseen circumstances. We apologise for any inconvenience. For more information, please call Box Office on 024 7652 4524.