Mendelssohn Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage
Schumann Violin Concerto
Brahms Symphony No.1

Conductor – Omer Meir Wellber
Violin – Baiba Skride

Drums pound, the strings cry out with pain – and Johannes Brahms begins the struggle of a lifetime. It took him ten years and a broken heart to write his First Symphony, and when it was finally complete, the critics dubbed it “Beethoven’s Tenth”. But when you hear the anguished heartbeats of its opening, you’ll begin to understand why – and when you hear the magnificent tune with which it finishes, you’ll agree.

Tonight, the CBSO and the acclaimed young Israeli conductor Omer Meir Wellber relive that incredible adventure, and join the superb Latvian violinist Baiba Skride in the dark romantic poetry of the only Violin Concerto by Brahms’s friend and mentor Schumann.

First though, Wellber shares Mendelssohn’s delightful seafaring overture (imagine The Hebrides on a less stormy day!) The CBSO is the orchestra that discovered Simon Rattle and Andris Nelsons, and it’s currently looking for a new Music Director, so who knows? This might be the start of something big!

Pre-Concert Talk

Woods-Scawen Room 6.15pm £2.50
Subscribers £1.50
To book, call Box Office on 024 7652 4524.

In conversation with Baiba Skride.