William Walton Spitfire and Fugue
George Butterworth The Banks of Green Willow
Maurice Ravel Concerto for left hand piano
Nicholas McCarthy OHMI presentation
Allessandro Marcello Oboe Concerto in D Minor (Transcription)
Edward Elgar Enigma variations

Doctor musicians from all over Europe have joined together under the direction of a professional conductor, Simon Wright, to offer A musical Journey of Loss, Triumph and Mystery in aid of our chosen charity, OHMI.

Our journey celebrates the spitfire triumph of the Second World War and continues with a lament for love in the First World War.

Marking the centenary of the end of the First World War we are joined by Nicholas McCarthy who was born without a right hand and who became the first left hand only pianist to graduate from the Royal College of Music. Nicholas will perform the Ravel concerto for left hand and tell us about his personal journey and the work of OHMI – a charity enabling music-making for the physically disabled.

The remarkable young musician, Jess Gillam, who was the first saxophonist to win the Woodwind final of BBC Musician of the year will play a transcription of the lovely baroque D minor Oboe concerto, accompanied by members of the orchestra.
Then to the mystery of Elgar’s Variations.