Tickets Added to basket!

Tickets have been added to your basket and will be held in a basket for 10 minutes.

Ryan Bancroft conducting the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra Image Credit: Hannah Fathers

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Part of the Orchestral Series 2022-23
Thursday 3 November 2022 7:30pm
Butterworth Hall
Grabbing available dates and times
Need to know

Ticket prices between: £16 - £43 (Concessions available)

Package discount for booking 4 or more concerts in the 22/23 series applied automatically during checkout.

Conductor: Ryan Bancroft
Soloist: Oliver Janes (clarinet)

Adams The Chairman Dances
Finzi Clarinet Concerto
Rachmaninov Symphonic Dances


2 hours (incl. interval)

Recommended Age:
Suitable for all

CBSO returns for an evening rich in melody, lyricism, humour and with just a touch of melancholy.

John Adams describes his The Chairman Dances as an ‘out-take’ from his opera Nixon in China. With its swooping, themes and heart-on-sleeve sentimentality, it’s unashamedly funny, but shot through with an unmistakable sadness too.

British choral composer, Gerald Finzi’s Clarinet Concerto, his best-known work, will however quickly dispel any gloom. There’s a searing intensity to its opening that will doubtlessly showcase the skills of soloist, CBSO clarinettist Oliver Janes.

The evening closes with Rachmaninov’s Symphonic Dances, his final completed work and one that many view as his best. This is a work so rich in colour, melody, and effortless lyricism, that it’s hard to believe he had all but given up on composing a few years earlier.

The award-winning conductor Ryan Bancroft takes to the podium, ensuring a night to remember.

Pre-Concert Talk

Oliver Janes standing in front of a brick wall, holding a clarinet

Oliver Janes

Pre-Concert Talk in the Helen Martin Studio with Oliver Janes at 6.15pm before the main concert.
See all concert talks

Orchestral Series 22/23 Packages

Book for 4 or more concerts from the 22/23 Orchestral Series and receive the following benefits:

  • Early choice on all the best seats
  • Save up to 16% on full price tickets
  • Spread the cost of your ticket by direct Debit*
  • Free ticket exchange**
  • Reduced price of £2.50 for pre-concert talks

  • *available for 4 or more concerts. Deadline for Direct Debit applications Fri 19 Aug 2022

    ** tickets to be returned with 24 hours’ notice of event and exchanged within the package.

    See all Orchestral Series 2022-23

    Package Discounts Cost of each performance package including £2.50 booking fee
    When you book % Off Band A Band B Band C Band D Band E
    8 concerts 16% £292.16 £272.00 £251.84 £204.80 £164.48
    7 concerts 16% £255.64 £238.00 £220.36 £179.20 £143.92
    6 concerts 12% £228.84 £213.00 £197.16 £160.20 £128.52
    5 concerts 12% £190.70 £177.50 £164.30 £133.50 £107.10
    4 concerts 8% £159.04 £148.00 £136.96 £111.20 £89.12
    3 concerts 8% £119.28 £111.00 £102.72 £83.40 £66.84