Led by James Brown’s Musical Director, renowned saxophonist Pee Wee Ellis, and co-curated with singer China Moses, FUNK: A Music Revolution celebrates funk’s influence from its early days to latest sounds.

“From 1967 when Mr. Brown and I wrote Cold Sweat until today, Funk has been woven into the DNA of popular music. We want to tell that story.” Pee Wee Ellis

The nine-piece band features some of the best funk and soul artists from the UK including Omar – vocals, Dennis Rollins – trombone and Neville Malcolm – bass.

From Say It Loud, I’m Black and I’m Proud and Stevie Wonder’s Sir Duke to Kool & the Gang’s Jungle Boogie, Funk kickstarted a revolution of bass lines, street wear and attitude that has permeated our music, culture and outlook. Celebrating funk’s influence on dance styles, UK street dance group The Locksmiths join the stage. Bring on the FUNK.

To access the Spotify Inspiration Playlist, click here.

Line up:
Band Leader & MD, Sax – Pee Wee Ellis
Vocals – China Moses with special guest OMAR MBE
Guitar – Tony Remy
Horns – Camilla George – sax, Dennis Rollins MBE – trombone
Keys – Dan Moore
Bass – Neville Malcolm
Drums – Daru Jones
Rapper – Lady Sanity
Dance Company – The Locksmiths dance co.

Produced by Sound UK.

Please note: there is no lift access to seats in the balconies or choir stalls for the duration of the Warwick 20:20 Project. If you have any queries, please contact Box Office.